Survived by his Jamacian wife Odette and his children who are all very well set up because of his astute buying and selling over his sixty year career. He was from Adelaide and I first met him in Brisbane when only a youngster working for Harcourt Howard. He went on to live in Trinidad, England and then Sydney where he ran his business from the matt black painted Victorian three story shop on South Dowling Street that was chokers with everything Chinese, European and English, of very high standards. He summoned me to Sydney one day tempting me with something he said he’s never offered to anyone else – the MacKenzie bookplate collection. I even knew where it was hidden in his shop but had never asked him what was in the timber leather bound boxes that looked more like books. Many of our Sydney friends have become his clients after we have introduced him to them – Vale my friend “Brucie” . . .

