joycesoden

Naomi Berry was a fabric collector who became a dealer to support her habit. Every Saturday I’d visit the small shop she had on Fernberg Road, Milton. It only opened on Saturdays . . . Naomi made weekly visits to two sisters who lived in Yerrongpilly, the Soden sisters. Every one of these came wrapped in pink string, from memory maybe 24 issues or 6 months worth at a time. The Soden sisters were very early investors in the stock exchange, their boxes of ephemera with receipts, recipes and helpful hints were fantastic and I still have some of those. I have one scrap book they made that is absolutely a naive surrealist ‘artist book’ – I have lent this to Noreen Grahame for a show ages ago. I also scanned from their scrap book, a starter page for my 1991 ‘electronic exquisite corpse’ paper promotion where I joined 7 *designers around the world who shared and enhanced files for the Gilbert Paper Co – under the creative direction of Thirst in Chicago. *Neville Brody,Erik Spiekermann, Malcolm Enright, Linda van Deursen & Armand Mevis, Paul Sych, Katherine McCoy & Ric Valicenti. (I should do a post about this fantastic experiment on ephemeral-male). These at going to the first fashionista who calls for $200.00 the lot!

