bh-kevinmdskinner-b

This well researched and much anticipated book is now available to everyone interested in the subject, across the divide from both directions. I’ve altered the cover of the book shot to show that the magic is out-of-the-box.

Barbara’s email to Kevin has been copied into this post, below. Published by Bateman ISBN – 978 1 869 53 820 0

Hi Kevin, Wow! really.” “I have been dipping in and out of this book – it would be curious to map a trail of my exploration…I started at the beginning of course, no that’s not quite true, of course I started by looking up my name in the index to hastily read the section on myself – an act which in itself reveals the enormity of your project from the outset – i.e. the number of artist egos you must have had to negotiate to gather all this material together. That fact alone is extraordinary and I/we all thank you for it. Anyway after finding my own story succinctly told and enjoying the subsequent wave of warm inclusion, I went to the pages on Ray Norman, my friend and mentor. I have had so many conversations with Ray and so often thought, ‘I must write this down’, so I loved reading about his early years couched within your overview of the context within which he was working. Here was both a revelation and a re-iteration of the familiar – I felt gratitude again for details recorded. Praise the archivist.” “But also I began to get a sense of this quality of dispassionate overview; the placing, recording and grouping, the timeline and the larger cultural themes. Its like having a key to unlock the story of one’s own category…the fascination of looking through the other end of the telescope.” “So then I focussed on the Australian segments and thought , mmm maybe I’ll read the NZ parts later… but quite quickly (good plan to have each section flow back and forth across the ditch seamlessly) I got hooked into the whole. So…I am hooked and enjoying the ride tremendously – and wanted to let you know sooner rather than wait until I get to the end.” “I hope you are both receiving mountains of praise for what we know to be a considerable amount of labour. More in due course,” “Cheers and love from Barbara”

Kevin adds that he has started another blog to post all the material taken from texts prepared but not included in the final published work + updates – http://placeandadornment.tumblr.com

