The other side of the entrance to the Bacon show, we loved it. The AGNSW show was pretty well the *John Russell viewpoint, to me – but that was my first view of Bacon’s work (until the first time I viewed them at the Tate). I hated the glass over the canvas, understandable but regrettable. Tony Bond’s video clip was a treat, especially his ‘void’ comments/observations. I have always loved Bacon’s constructed grounds, the doorways and the flat panels behind the figures, *Thames and Hudson published John Russell’s work on Bacon in 1971 which I read at the time. Alas the reproductions were so small but the friendships, the precursors, the sitters, the lovers were all recorded in his detailed chronology. Amongst John Waterman’s library was a new copy of ‘7 Reece Mews’ – Francis Bacon’s Studio published in 2001 by Thames and Hudson and penned by John Edward’s – the sole heir to the booty, since gifted and spirited away to Dublin.

yep, no photography allowed – my movie of the day – HERE

Those Kaldor works are all wonderful, Jeff Koons and mal E and Bh

Playing around at Bruce McLeod’s shop in South Dowling Street, the three of us surprised him – he is my good friend and life-long dealer in special objects. Just celebrated his 83rd birthday.

Back at the Boulevarde where I stayed 1979–1984 while working with David and Leo at SSB

