To celebrate ‘life after art’ after I was forced to sell my art collection – in 1999 I commissioned Howie to carve a figure of quan-yin inside a lovely large clear quartz crystal pebble from Madagascar. The pebble turned out to have a wave-like inclusion in the base that the figure was positioned on – the Goddess of Mercy is shown in South Chinese seafaring tales as walking on water. In fact the story goes that a drowning sailor who utters her name will always survive. An extra element of the crystal is a section that has enhanced magnification, with this part Howie cut a vision depression into it to show the figure in another light.

I show this again as Howie has just emailed me his new web site – here. Go buy or better still – commission something from the man who initiated ‘hollowography’ . . .

Older viewer site links go back to early 2000 – here and here and finally here.

