The first email message received:

“Dear Mal, I am involved with a philanthropic trust as one of the trustees. We have had an extraordinarily devoted member of staff since the trust was formed about 12 years ago, and sadly she is going to retire. I was wondering what you might have in stock that would make a suitable gift for her.  As we are a charity we need to be circumspect. I am thinking around the $500 mark. Maybe a brooch? Would you mind sending me picture / price of anything you think is suitable.
Regards M.A.H.
………………………………………………………………………………
The studio is mostly a place of makes, sure there are great cabinets full of samples, styles, gems etc but once we make the stuff we want it out in retailer’s showcases where the public might better interact and decide to purchase. So I find myself in the trays full of components and diving into stock boxes from shows past (and future). Nine scans later and M.A.H. shoots back two quick requests: “Mal, We like the top one (with the amethyst).  It doesn’t need to come by express post. We need it for just after Easter.  Should we phone to discuss so I can give you a credit card number?  If so please give me a call on . . . . . . .  – Regards, M.A.H.” + “Mal, I like this one myself!! Is it really about 6 cm square?  I think I’d like to see it at least. Could you send it down with the other one? Regards M.A.H.”

Asymmetric Lace Brooch © Bh New Paisley Taupe coloured Fresh Water Pearl Amethyst 925 Silver Hand made Safety Double Pin Back – studio wholesale to commission clients.

This Brooch was made for Studio Noko, Double Bay, a Summer Fashion show entitled ‘on the terrace’ for Barry Taffs of Covers in 1987. Coloured Titanium with Brass and Copper rivets © Bh. Barbara made two of everything at the time and after the show the hoard was wrapped in archival tissue and stored in boxes here. In 2004 they all came out for the QAG item review, were repacked and one has now gone to a great customer in fashionable Melbourne – so it pays to do your homework and ask the question in the first place.

……………………………………………………………………………………

The final email from M. A. H. waiting for me this morning: “Dear Mal, Your package was waiting for me when I got to work this morning. Both pieces are wonderful. It will be hard for me to present the amethyst one – it’s so beautiful I want to keep it!!  It will make a seriously good farewell gift and I very much appreciate the effort that went in to getting it here on time. I have transferred the cost of the titanium piece into your bank account. The amethyst payment will be made later next week as the only person in the . . . office today is the person who will be receiving the gift. Best wishes for Easter, Mary Anne H.

