Objects with text – 2, maintaining the soap theme. I once purchased around 20 bound, six monthly volumes of the London Illustrated News from a grand colonial house in East Brisbane in the early 1960s. (UPDATE: Another point of interest – the 598 Vulture Street house is now owned by an old SSB client and a mate by the name of Jon Le Court). I was told the owners’ decendents once owned all the river front land from where the Story bridge is now right along to Norman Creek. They grew sugar cane along the flood plain and the original house was positioned high on the ridge commanding a view to the city. I pulled so many original real estate posters from between those pages, this demonstrative advert for Pears Soap was another hidden treasure I have not been able to part with. (As an ex-advertising man I have always cherished working with products that actually deliver on their promise).

